Before

tools to help you assess your urges before you give in to them, and to help you understand and learn from slips after they happen. by posting here, you're saying that you are serious about exploring the feelings behind your self-harm in depth, whether you're ready to stop hurting yourself or not. to request posting access, click usergroups above and join before and after.

Moderator: treasure

herebedragons
forum moderator emeritus
forum moderator emeritus

Before

Post by herebedragons » Thu May 26, 2005 5:55 am

Why do I feel I need to hurt myself? What has brought me to this point?

I'm feeling guilty and overwhelmed because I called to get help today and have set up an appointment with a therapist (in a couple of weeks) though, to be fair I've been wanting to do this for a while now I just have a different reason.
Have I been here before? What did I do to deal with it? How did I feel then?

Well I've never been in this exact spot as I've never done therapy before. I've only rarely cut out of guilt so sort of a yes and no. Other times when I've wanted to hurt myself out of guilt or a feeling of needing to punish myself I generally did just that.

What I have done to ease this discomfort so far? What else can I do that won't hurt me?
I've talked about it, written about it, watched Dr. Who with my husband, written about why me going to therapy will be good for my family, cleaned a bit

what else can I do? read, sleep, pet a cat if I can find one (we've got four you'd think I'd always have one at the ready)

How do I feel right now?

Right this second I feel fairly calm attending to the task at hand which is typing this out. But I feel like a bad person and I feel like it will be a waste of time and money to do therapy and a waste of the therapists time and taking away from someone who really needs therapy because I'm not even actively suicidal. Heck I haven't even cut in a year now.

How will I feel when I am hurting myself?