Seeing a T for the first time

tips on how to cope: dealing with your feelings, dealing with the consequences of self-harm in your life. share your ideas and maybe pick up some new skills, too. you don't have to want to stop to learn something new here.

Moderators: Spidey, noldo

marylou
meeting the neighbors
meeting the neighbors

Seeing a T for the first time

Post by marylou » Wed Oct 27, 2004 2:29 pm

I'm going to see a T on November 10th and already I don't know what to do!!
I'm nervous, excited, apprehensive, EVERYTHING!
What do I do? What do I say? What if I don't like her?

Please advise, I'm new to this.
"You loosen my chains and just ask me to trust you. But it's so much easier this way, even though I know that I am bound."

Boogie Man
one of us
one of us

Post by Boogie Man » Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:16 pm

well you dont really have to do much, really.
T's tend to ask you a lot of questions on your first appt. so be ready to answer their questions honestly. some times they can ask very up front questions, like for example when i first saw a T she had no idea why i was there, so she asked "why are you here?" and yeah it kind put me on the back foot. i had to straight up say that i cut myself, infront of a complete stranger.
remember your only talking to the T caus you want to be there, so if there is anything you really dont want to answer, you dont have to. and if you dont like the T you dont have to keep seeing them, and your always free to leave.
i hope it all goes well for ya, take care.

peace

plantt
forum moderator emeritus
forum moderator emeritus

Post by plantt » Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:09 pm

you go :)
i'd suggest thinking through what you want to get out of therapy... as boogie man said... some t's are very good about just asking questions & getting things out of you. others will be more 'why are you here?' type. be prepared for either.