How to tell my parents?

tips on how to cope: dealing with your feelings, dealing with the consequences of self-harm in your life. share your ideas and maybe pick up some new skills, too. you don't have to want to stop to learn something new here.

Moderators: Spidey, noldo

starkid
unpacking boxes
unpacking boxes

How to tell my parents?

Post by starkid » Sat Apr 11, 2009 6:44 pm

I want to tell my parents because i tried to stop cutting by myself and i can't. and i need help so i think its time to tell them what i have been doing for 8 years. But i don't know how to tell them.
luv jess
SI Free Since June 8, 2009 ( 2 Slips)
One very bad

Spidey
board admin
board admin

Post by Spidey » Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:19 pm

Could you tell them in person, or if not, write a letter?
there is, in the end, the letting go.
-marya hornbacher

spidey immer voran
(spidey ever onward)

:cowave:

Roxi
knows the ropes
knows the ropes

Post by Roxi » Mon Apr 13, 2009 11:45 am

hey . well done on deciding to tell them , in my experience it was extremly beneficial to have them on the same page as me and able to support me.

Becuase it's not the kind of thing any parent wants to hear about their child , it's possible that they might react harshly at first - out of shock , this and because telling parents about SI is a reaLLy scary thing to do I opted to do it in a therapy session with my T there just for support and to help keep things stable and contained. I would reccomend this if you have a therpaist ,if not - an older cousin or person you trust ?

good luck . :star: :star: