(Help) How to tell your parents that you self-harm :/

tips on how to cope: dealing with your feelings, dealing with the consequences of self-harm in your life. share your ideas and maybe pick up some new skills, too. you don't have to want to stop to learn something new here.

Moderators: Spidey, noldo

christine1993
settling in
settling in

(Help) How to tell your parents that you self-harm :/

Post by christine1993 » Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:11 pm

I admit it- my parents aren't the most observant people out there. I've been cutting since I was 12 years old...I'm fifteen now. I desperately want to stop, but I don't think that counseling is enough. Out of the few friends that know about my predicament, every single one is encouraging me to tell my parents about it immeadiately. I'm scared because they're not the most understanding people out there- they'd rather hide the problem with medication than something different or better. I'm starting to lose hope.
Help me, please?
Thank you so much.
SI free for 58 days.

AaronApx
settling in
settling in

Post by AaronApx » Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:56 pm

Hi!

I agree... this is really hard to do. Sometimes it is easier to open with "I've been feeling..." rather than jumping into "I've been doing..."

While everybody's parents are different and their relationships with their children vary, I think the best thing you can do is be very honest and firm.

Let your parents know exactly how you are. Exactly what you want them to do about it and exactly when you want them to help you get there. If they brush it off, stay strong. It is important and you are worth it. If they are receptive, be sure to thank them for listening. Follow up with your parents: "Mom, have you called the doctor yet? Can we do it now?"