Trying to find good things about myself-- help.

tips on how to cope: dealing with your feelings, dealing with the consequences of self-harm in your life. share your ideas and maybe pick up some new skills, too. you don't have to want to stop to learn something new here.

Moderators: Spidey, noldo

Afternoon
creating your space
creating your space

Trying to find good things about myself-- help.

Post by Afternoon » Thu Apr 17, 2008 4:59 am

At my last counseling session, I came to the realization that many of my emotional problems stem from my belief that I'm unloveable. My counselor suggested that I make a list of things about myself that I like, things that are good.

I've been trying to do that over the past few days, but it is genuinely hard for me to find things to like about myself. So far all I could think of is that I'm a good cook, and that's a pretty lame start.

Does anyone else struggle with this? Any tips on finding my redeeming qualities? I know they're in there somewhere, but I feel like I need a steam shovel to unearth them.
I don't know who I am, but life is for learning.
-Joni Mitchell

irishpecas14
meeting the neighbors
meeting the neighbors

Post by irishpecas14 » Thu Apr 17, 2008 5:16 am

i struggle with it, especially when there is a question directly addressing what i am good at.

maybe ask friends/family what they think you are good at?

thewaves
sprouting branches
sprouting branches

Post by thewaves » Thu Apr 17, 2008 5:44 am